Sexsmith residents may soon be able to make a more informed decision on a new mayor and councillor. The town will be holding a candidates forum on December 13th. The meet and greet will give people a chance to ask questions and get to know who’s running in next month’s byelection.

Sexsmith Chamber of Commerce President Jacqueline Jensen and former town councillors Ian Penner and Kate Potter all have hopes of becoming the town’s next mayor.

In order for Penner and Potter to run, they have had to resign from council. There are six people running to replace them: Elizabeth Bateman, Clare Craipley, Pamela Foley, Kenneth Hildebrand, Dennis Stredulinsky, and Christopher Welsh.

The byelection was called after Mayor Claude Lagace passed away on September 29, 2018. The 66-year-old had served as the town’s mayor since 2010.

The forum will take place at 7 p.m. in the Robert W. Zahara Public School gymnasium. Election day is set for December 17th at the Sexsmith Civic Centre from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.