Listen Live
HomeNewsLaGlace teacher named PWSd Edwin Parr nominee

LaGlace teacher named PWSd Edwin Parr nominee

The Peace Wapiti School Division has chosen a Grade 3-5 teacher at LaGlace School as their nominee for this year’s Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

Melissa Wade graduated from the University of Alberta in 2013 and teaches language arts, math, science, health, art, and physical education.

LaGlace Principal Terry Fast says Wade has a commitment to educating the whole child and is able to engage her students through leveled instruction and project based learning.

She has also participated in the Classroom Champions project, pairing her grade four class with a Canadian Olympian, is a member of the school’s healthy living initiative, and this year will be planning a school wide summer play day.

- Advertisement -

The Edwin Parr Award recognizes outstanding first year teachers each year from school divisions around the province.

The winners from each of the six school zones will be chosen in the fall.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading