Listen Live
HomeNewsAspen Grove teacher wins zone 1 Edwin Parr Award

Aspen Grove teacher wins zone 1 Edwin Parr Award

A first-year teacher from Aspen Grove School is the zone 1 winner of the 2019 Edwin Parr Award. Daniel Bishop was nominated by the Grande Prairie Public School Division back in April and was recently honoured at the Alberta School Board Association’s fall General Meeting.

Bishop was a former student in the GPPSD and teaches grade seven math and science, as well as grade seven and eight physical education and outdoor education at the same school he graduated from. He says the teachers he had growing up were a big influence on him and he wants to be that for his students too.

“I feel as though the teachers and coaches throughout my life have helped shape me into the individual that I am today, and I want to be that person for my students now. That’s why I feel as though building positive relationships with each one of my students is key for their educational success in the classroom and their future success in society.”

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award was created in 1964 to celebrate the efforts of first-year teachers. Each school board in Alberta can nominate one teacher and the winner will be selected by a committee of Trustees in each of the six zones that make up the ASBA.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading