Listen Live
HomeNewsUnofficial election results

Unofficial election results

UPDATE: After a tight race in the County of Grande Prairie Ward 5 returning Councillor Bob Marshall came in with about 43 per cent of the vote with 4/5 polling stations reporting.

Bill Given will continue to sit in the mayors chair in the City of Grande Prairie. He received 68 per cent according to the city’s website. Dick Baillie was the runner up with almost 27 per cent of the vote. Theodore Nikoforik rounded out the top three with 4 per cent.

Council will see five newcomers join three incumbents. Returning is Chris Thiessen, Jackie Clayton and Kevin O’Toole. Leading the way in votes is newcomer Eunice Friesen, just three votes separated her and runner up Chris Thiessen. Jackie Clayton, Dylan Bressey, Clyde Blackburn and Wade Pilat all came in with about 7 per cent of the council votes. Rounding out the group in spots seven and eight is Kevin O’Toole and Yad Minhas respectively. The only incumbent not to make it back on to council is Kevin McLean who was about 100 votes behind Minhas.

Public school trustees elected this year include Andre Oullette, John Lehners and Paulette Kurylo with 9 to 10 per cent of the vote. The rest of the board will include Lynn Driedger, Rob Martin, Joan Nellis and Lesley Craig. The public board grew by two seats this election.

- Advertisement -

Separate school trustees in ward one top vote-getter was Michael Ouellette followed by Michelle Boyd Boisvert, Jennifer Ann Adam-Hessel, Alyeska Silvester-Degen and Michael Popek.

In Rycroft all three councillors running for reelection will be returning: Dwayne Kotyk, James Verquin and Joanne Chelick. Verquin was also the top vote-getter with 104 ballots. A total of 140 people cast their vote.

County of Grande Prairie results are still unofficial but Leanne Beaupre appears set to return to council with 71 per cent of the vote in Ward 3. Ward 2 incumbent Darryl Beeston returns with a commanding 85 per cent of the vote. Ross Sutherland also appears set to return to represent Ward 4 along with Ward 6’s Peter Harris. Ward 7 welcomes newcomer Linda Dianne Waddy and Corey Beck returns to Ward 9. Wards 1 and 8 were already acclaimed, Harold Bulford and Karen Rosevold will both return. In Ward 5 Bob Marshall pulled ahead after a tight race during the early part of the night.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading