Listen Live
HomeNewsMLAs Loewen, Williams appointed to new UCP cabinet

MLAs Loewen, Williams appointed to new UCP cabinet

MLA for Peace River Dan Williams and Central Peace-Notley MLA Todd Loewen have both been named as cabinet ministers in the newly sworn in United Conservative Party government. Loewen was named Minister of Forestry and Parks, while Williams will start the term as Minister of Mental Health and Addiction.

It’s the second term in government for the UCP, and the second with at least two Peace Country MLAs taking a spot in cabinet, with former MLA for Grande Prairie—Wapiti Travis Toews spending the majority of his time in office as Finance Minister, with former Grande Prairie MLA Tracy Allard spending time as Minister of Municipal Affairs.

MLAs were sworn in on Friday at a special ceremony at the Alberta Legislature in Edmonton.

The full list of MLAs who will also serve on cabinet is as follows:

- Advertisement -

Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Relations – Danielle Smith

Deputy Premier and Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Services – Mike Ellis

Minister of Advanced Education – Rajan Sawhney

Minister of Affordability and Utilities and Vice-chair of Treasury Board – Nathan Neudorf

Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation – RJ Sigurdson

Minister of Arts, Culture and Status of Women – Tanya Fir

Minister of Children and Family Services – Searle Turton

Minister of Education – Demetrios Nicolaides

Minister of Energy and Minerals – Brian Jean

Minister of Environment and Protected Areas – Rebecca Schulz

Ministry of Forestry and Parks – Todd Loewen

Minister of Health – Adriana LaGrange

Minister of Immigration and Multiculturalism – Muhammad Yaseen

Minister of Indigenous Relations – Rick Wilson

Minister of Infrastructure – Pete Guthrie

Minister of Jobs, Economy and Trade – Matt Jones

Minister of Justice – Mickey Amery

Minister of Mental Health and Addiction – Dan Williams

Minister of Municipal Affairs – Ric McIver

Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services – Jason Nixon

Minister of Service Alberta and Red Tape Reduction – Dale Nally

Minister of Technology and Innovation – Nate Glubish

Minister of Tourism and Sport – Joseph Schow

Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors – Devin Dreeshen

President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance – Nate Horner

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading