Listen Live
HomeNewsMore Peace Country communities eligible for rural immigration program

More Peace Country communities eligible for rural immigration program

More communities in the Peace Country are now able to take part in a provincial program aimed at attracting skilled newcomers. In addition to the City of Grande Prairie, the County of Grande Prairie, including Sexsmith and Wembley, and the Municipal District of Smoky River, including Falher, McLennan, Donnelly, and Girouxville, have also been designated under the Rural Renewal Stream.

The program is meant to help communities with less than 100,000 residents attract immigrants by working with local employers and organizations to support their arrival with housing, education, healthcare, and language training. Each community has to apply for the designation showing they have an economic need and supports available.

Now that the local communities have the designation, they can write a letter to endorse a prospective immigrant which can then be used as part of their immigration application.

The MD of Smoky River communities are already taking part in the Rural Entrepreneur Stream, which focuses on attracting newcomer entrepreneurs. The MDs of Peace and Spirit River, as well as the Towns of Grimshaw and High Prairie, and the Village of Berwyn are also designated.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading