Listen Live
HomeNewsGrande Prairie recognizes sport excellence

Grande Prairie recognizes sport excellence

Grande Prairie has recognized its best in the world of sports.

The annual Northwest Alberta Sport Excellence Awards were handed out this past weekend, and the GPRC Wolves women’s cross country team stole the night.

Coach Bill Corcoran took home the Coach of the Year honours, while the team itself was named female team of the year.

The women earned both an ACAC title and CCAA title last year. Rookie Mirelle Martens was named Female Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row.

- Advertisement -

In addition to winning provincial and national cross country titles, she also qualified for the national junior team and competed in the Pan-American Cross Country Cup.

Ryan Roznowsky was named Male Athlete of the Year after taking home five medals at the Special Olympics Summer Games in Vancouver, and then another five more from the World Down Syndrome Swimming Championships.

Meanwhile, St. Joe’s Celtics High School Football team was named Male Team of the Year.

The Celtics won both the Peace Bowl, and the Football Alberta Tier two championship after going undefeated in their season.

Other winners included Grande Prairie Minor Hockey Association Executive Director Lorna Leblanc for the Sport Builder Award and Grande Prairie Skating Club President Chantal Dyrkach as Unsung Hero.

Volleyball coach Jeff Fratini was tapped as Developmental Coach of the Year, while hockey ref Marty Tingstad was named Outstanding Official of the Year.

Grande Prairie Ski Patrol won the Community Spirit Ward, while the Sport Citizen of the Year title was shared between volleyballs’ Amie Slawson and figure skating’s Stevie Lee Temple.

Photo: Mirelle Marten/Bill Corcoran

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading