Listen Live
HomeNewsSport Excellence Award nominees announced

Sport Excellence Award nominees announced

Fifty-six local athletes, coaches, volunteers and teams have been nominated for this year’s Sports Excellence Awards. On Thursday, the Grande Prairie Sport Council released the official list of names.

Ten awards will be given out in two different categories. In the High-Performance category, they include Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year and Coach of the year. In the Community Awards category, awards include Developmental Coach of the Year, Outstanding Official, Sport Builder, Unsung Hero, Community Sportsmanship and Sport Event of the Year.

The 2019 Nominees are listed below:
Coach of the Year
Alex Dawson, Swimming
Alison Lario, Track and Field
Bill Mahood, Mixed Martial Arts Brazilian Jujitsu
Corey Howrish, Football
Drew Rogers, Snowboarding
Jocelyn McConney, Trampoline and Tumbling
Ron Thompson, Volleyball
Developmental Coach of the Year
Anthony Wall, Football
Chris Levesque, Hockey
Eva O’Handley, Trampoline and Tumbling
Joel Mueller, Basketball
Karli Munro, Basketball
Shayne Zeyha, Volleyball
Female Athlete of the Year
Dani Downey, Rugby
Elizabeth Gustafson, Pistol Shooting
Kaitlyn O’Handley, Gymnastics
Michelle Grisales, Judo
Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Catherine Minic, Swimming
Ella Kuhn, Snowboarding, Volleyball, Basketball, Badminton
Faith Blanchette, Track and Field/XC Running
Jordan Greber, Swimming
Keyanna Anderson, Track and Field
Paige Budgell, Hockey, Kayaking
Male Athlete of the Year
Rylan Bond, Trampoline and Tumbling
Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Carter Kettyle, Football
Draven Novosol, Trampoline and Tumbling
Elijah Pollard, Bouldering
Linden Rakestraw, Snowboarding, Football
Tyler Funk, Volleyball
Team of the Year
Broncos Bantam Football
GP Gymniks Code Teal Junior
GP Gymniks Code Teal
GPRC Wolves Club U16 Girls
Sexsmith Secondary Rugby
Outstanding Official
Dave Bleile, Football
George Stewart, Multi Sport
Samantha Campbell, Trampoline and Tumbling
Sport Builder
David Murray, Rock Climbing
Jeff Buller, Racquetball
Katie Biberdorf, Gymnastics
Melanie Curtis, Gymnastics
Sarah Herman, Beach Volleyball
Community Sportsmanship
Gymniks Cheer, Cheerleading
Jennifer Lekisch, Cheerleading
Maren Roberts, Multi Sport
Unsung Hero
Darren Foley
Dave Doyle & Geoff Metituk
Esther Bylsma
Jonathan Wrzosek
Karrilyn Robideau
Liana Hall
Tanya Brewster
Trevor Sak

The awards will be handed out on March 1st at the Pomeroy Hotel and Conference Centre at 7:30 p.m. Tickets can be found here.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading