Listen Live
HomeNewsDrysdale, Oberle part of Premier Jim Prentice's new cabinet

Drysdale, Oberle part of Premier Jim Prentice's new cabinet

Jim Prentice has been sworn in as the province’s 16th premier.

He announced smaller cabinet, that includes Peace River MLA Frank Oberle as Energy Minister, and Grande Prairie-Wapiti MLA Wayne Drysdale continuing as Transportation Minister.

The shortened list also includes two unelected cabinet ministers since 1930s, who will have to win a seat in a byelection.
In his speech, Prentice called it a new government that will have new voices and a new way of doing things.

“I believe that the choices that we will make over the next five years will define what Alberta will look like for the next five decades. As a province, as a people, we are justifiably proud of our history, but the job of building Alberta is not done.”

- Advertisement -

He says he’ll be bringing in “tough new rules” to repair the trust between Albertans and their representative, including an Accountability Act this fall.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading