Listen Live
HomeNewsCity of Grande Prairie Firefighter awards given out

City of Grande Prairie Firefighter awards given out

The Grande Prairie Fire Department award presentations were presented this morning at Chamber Council. Local MLA’s and members of city council presented awards this morning at council Chambers. The Dispatcher of the Year award went to Jennifer Johnson while Dispatcher Supervisor Tamara Gaboury was recognized with the Award of Merit. The Unit Commendation award in celebration of the 100th Anniversary went to Firefighter Captain Ben Sargeant as well as four other firefighters including Firefighter Matt Rennie, Phil Tufford, Jevon Deck, and Nicky Hemingson. Alongside the recognition of the firefighters for the 100th Anniversary celebration, Fire Administration Coordinators Gail Littleton, Kristina Purcha and Candice Smith were recognized.

Four individuals were recognized with the Alberta Emergency Service Medals including Lieutenant Tyler Mason and Lieutenant Ryan Ulrich. Two firefighters were recognized with this achievement as well, Phil Tufford and Jason Gordon.

Every year the Federal Government along with the province and the City of Grande Prairie recognize the Fire Department for their work in the community. Later this year Federal Exemplary awards will be handed out, Platoon Chief Barry Chorney will receive the 40 year bar while Captain Chad Cormack will get the 20 year medal.

The awards ceremony took place at the City Council Chambers on March 11th.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading