People of the sports community were recognized over the weekend for their involvement and achievements. High performance and Community awards are the two different types of categories people can be nominated in. The Unsung Hero award is a community award which was given to Scott Lowe.

The award winner had graduated from RCMP Regina training July 2008 and was then posted in Peace River where he became an integral part of sport in the area. He created a partnership with Sport Central for sport equipment for low income youth in the area and the sports after school program. Community awards are given to someone in the sport community that plays a key role in the development and sustainability of sport in the Peace Region.

The Sport Builder award was given out this year to Colin Griffith for his involvement in the curling community. Griffith was given this award for his commitment to the Peace Curling Association and Alberta Curling Federation. According to the GP Sport Council, his establishment of the Peace Curling Tour will ensure the development of more high performance curlers in years to come.

The Sport Citizen of the year award went to Melanie Curtis and Outstanding Official went to Kelly Wills. The GPRC Wolves Athletics received the Community Spirit award while the Developmental Coach of the Year went to Jordan Loughlin. The Coach of the Year went to Chris Spaidal.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year is Jordan Greber while the Female Athlete of the Year is Jamie Wigmore. In the male category, the Junior Athlete Winner is Kieran Goldhawk and Alexander Luis Maria Martinez Aedo took Athlete of the Year.

The Female Team of the Year is the GPRC Wolves Women’s Volleyball Team and the Male Team is the St Joseph’s Celtics Football Team.

The people had a choice too with the People’s Choice Individual Award going to Alexander Luis Maria Martinez Aedo and the People’s Choice Group going to St Joseph’s Celtics Football Team.

For more information on the GP Sport Council or the Sports Excellence Awards go to their website.