Listen Live
HomeNewsDozens nominated, 12 winners honoured at 2024 Northwest Alberta Sports Excellence Awards

Dozens nominated, 12 winners honoured at 2024 Northwest Alberta Sports Excellence Awards

It was a packed house at Clarkson Hall on April 12th as athletes and coaches from around Northwest Alberta were recognized at the 2024 Sports Excellence Awards.

Dozens of athletes, coaches, and officials were nominated across twelve award categories who displayed excellence in their sports during the 2023 season.

Among the award winners, the Grande Prairie Storm Junior A Hockey Players captured the Spirit of Sport award for their philanthropy across the city such as specialty charity game nights, building connection with Grande Prairie youth, and others.

Brandon Wells (left) (Ethan Montague, staff)

Brandon Wells, Assistant Coach and Goaltending Coach for the Grande Prairie Storm represented the organization during the evening and says the award is quite meaningful as it recognizes the countless hours of community efforts from the team.

- Advertisement -

“It’s a very big award for us, we try and help out in the community as much as possible whether it’s through allowing other organizations to come and raise money at our games and going to classrooms and reaching out to kids and reaching out to kids at a young age,” he says.

Wells says working with youth in particular stands out as a highlight from the year, citing the benefit of getting kids involved in sports as early as possible.

“Organized sports are a great thing for kids at a young age, it teaches a lot of life lessons that I think go unnoticed and I think we do a great job of getting our guys out to local schools and interacting with them and showing them that they can one day be a Grande Prairie Storm.”

Local volleyball coach Leanna Graham was “honoured” alongside basketball coach Dennis Farn when she received the award for Developmental Coach of the Year, recognizing her commitment to her athletes and their development as both players and future coaches.

Leeanna Graham (Ethan Montague, staff)

“I was always a multi-sport athlete and having a mentor and coach that helps you develop is so important, when I coach I always try to teach my athletes the importance of eventually becoming a coach themselves,” she says. “If I can be a great mentor and help them develop in their sport and hopefully become great athletes but also great coaches.”

Additional award winners include Reeghan Funk (Female Athlete of the Year), Emmanuel lloka (Male Athlete of the Year), Wayne Zack (Outstanding Official), Shane Zehya (Coach of the Year), Cathy Craipley (Unsung Hero), Grande Prairie Piranhas Swimming Club (Team of the Year), Deng Ngor (Junior Male Athlete of the Year), Awein Ngor (Junior Female Athlete of the Year), Gerald Hafner (Sport Builder), and AA Reds Provincials (Event of the Year).

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading