Listen Live
HomeNewsElection night results official across the Peace Country

Election night results official across the Peace Country

After the votes were ratified the UCP candidates Nolan Dyck, Ron Wiebe, Dan Williams and Todd Loewen will be representing Peace Country residents for the next four years in Edmonton.

Dyck won the Grande Prairie riding with 10,001 votes, while NDP Candidate Kevin McLean received 4,890, Independent Party candidate David Braun received 348 votes, and Alberta Party candidate Preston Mildenberger received 242 votes. Including advanced voting and mailed-in ballots 48.7 per cent of eligible voters in the area cast their ballots, 63.9 per cent voted UCP.

In Grande Prairie – Wapiti 54.5 per cent of voters visited the polls on May 29th, with 15,093 voting Wiebe in as their representative. NDP candidate Dustin Archibald received 4,063 votes, and Independent Party candidate Brooklyn Biegel received 645 votes. In the riding 54.5 percent of eligible voters turned out, with 76.2 per cent voting for Wiebe and the UCP.

Peace River incumbent Williams received 8,236 votes, with Liana Paiva received 2,587, Independent candidate Conrad Nuweiler received 290 votes and Independent Party of Alberta candidate Sharon Noullett received 194 votes. Out of the eligible voters in the Peace River riding 45.5 per cent of voters cast their ballot, 72.8 per cent voting for Williams.

- Advertisement -

Todd Loewen received 77.7 per cent of the vote in the Central Peace – Notley riding with 9,280 votes. NDP candidate Megan Ciurysek got 2,216 votes, Independent Party candidate Rodney Bowen 236 votes, and Alberta Party candidate Lynn Lekisch 166 votes. 58.8 per cent of eligible voters cast their ballot.

The UCP finished with 49 seats winning a majority government, with the NDP party winning 38. On Friday, June 9th, Premier elect Danielle Smith and her cabinet will be sworn in, in Edmonton at 11 a.m.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading